Gone from sight…

I lost my mom today.

Patricia to acquaintances.
Jane to her closest friends.
Mimi to her grandchildren.
Mom to my sister and me.

But don’t be sad.  Everything has a season.

My mom was the kindest person I have ever known.  She lived life every single day of her over 80 years on earth.  Her smile would light up the room and she always had a kind word for everyone in earshot.  She loved and accepted everyone the same, just as God made them.  Mom loved children, animals, people, music and more than anything… she loved her children and grandchildren.

Breast cancer is a horrible disease. It hit her hard first almost five years ago.  It hit her harder a few months ago.  The day the doctor confirmed her diagnosis mom told me, “Honey, death is a part of life.”  Mom faced it as a warrior, not a worrier just as she did the first time.  She fought to the end.

Oh don’t get the idea the cancer won.  It didn’t.

This morning, my sister and I held my mom as she passed from this life to the next.  We had precious time with her.  She had seen the people she loves over the past week and was ready. At peace and ready to sail to the other side…

“In a beautiful blue lagoon on a clear day,
a fine sailing ship spreads its brilliant
white canvas in a fresh morning breeze and
sails out to the open sea. We watch her
glide away magnificently through the deep
blue and gradually see her grow smaller and
smaller as she nears the horizon. Finally,
where the sea and sky meet, she slips silently
from sight, and someone near me says, ‘there,
she is gone!’

Gone where?  Gone from sight. That is all.
She is still as large in mast and hull and
sail, still just as able to bear her load.
And we can be sure that, just as we say,
‘there, she is gone’ another says,
‘there, she comes!’.”

Henry Van Dyke

2 Responses to “Gone from sight…”

  1. Tom, I am so sorry for your loss. I remember your mom – she was a sweet lady! My prayers are with you and your family.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,676 other followers

